Body
Students who have dropped courses in Canvas continue to appear on the People page as "Inactive". While they can't be removed from the People page directly, you can use the Grades area to view a list of only active students.
What does the Inactive status mean?
Students who have added and subsequently dropped your course, or switched sections, through the official registration process, will appear in your People page as "Inactive".
Inactive students are not able to access your course. It does not appear in their Courses list, and they are not able to view assignments, grades, or any other activity in the course.
How do I remove dropped/Inactive students?
Inactive students cannot be removed from the People page of your course.
Where can I find a list of only active students?
On the Grades page of your course, only students who are actively enrolled will appear. The same is true of SpeedGrader for assignment grading.